Being Poor Taught Me…

My bank account does not define me.

To live without fear regarding finances.

I will always, always, always, have enough.

The difference between an expectation, a want, a need, and a necessity, and how to live peacefully with necessities.

The term “successful” in America is often given to people who accumulate. Not many people would describe me as successful, although I would disagree. I am succeeding at what is important to me right now.

You can always create a meal out of what’s in the cabinets if your creativity isn’t blocked by self-pity.

Hope, creativity, peace & joy are priceless and have nothing to do with money.

We all need help from time to time.

The ladies at the catholic charity food pantry in Fort Worth, TX on Alta Mesa are some of the best people on the planet. You’re getting my money when I’m wealthy.

Regardless of what canned-food drive organizers believe, poor people do not need more dented cans of expired pumpkin.

What the culture defines as beneficial is sometimes harmful, and vice-versa. (To explore this fascinating concept, please read Malcolm Gladwell’s book David & Goliath: http://bit.ly/1s0EibW)

Children who are given hope and peace can also experience character abundance in the midst of financial lack.

The poor feel just as entitled as the wealthy.

Spending $5 foolishly can blow the budget. In other words, I learned how to not waste money…or time.

Often creative solutions are superior to the easy solutions money provides.

To evaluate someone independently of how he looks. To evaluate someone the way I want to be evaluated, for who I am: valuable, because I’m a human being.

That $20 can provide a family hope, and can mean the difference between eating dinner or going without.

If children happen to answer the phone, credit card companies take advantage of that opportunity to ridicule and shame the parents to their children, then attempt to harass the children.

Why people who are late on their credit card payments don’t answer the phone.

It’s hard to get a job without an address.

It’s hard to get an address without a job.

Money does not make you happy.

Lack of money does not make you unhappy.

I’d rather ride the bus with an authentic poor person than ride in a nice car with a poser.

Stereotypes about the poor in America are inaccurate. Some poor people are bright, educated, hard-working, talented, and free from the mind-numbing system of “getting ahead.”

Providing for your children has little to do with their brand of jeans. Children need hope, training, guidance, wisdom, acceptance, love.

A few parents with a different value system tend to evaluate me as “not doing my job” as a parent because I can’t easily buy some items my children need…until they meet my kids.

Leave a Reply

