Hang Out on the Patio: A Moment to Honor God | Saturday, June 20

So I’ve been thinking about this Saturday all week. The Nance Family is used to hanging out together, so we don’t have to think about what we’re like when we’re together. We just are. I’m very aware we’re our own Culture and when we focus on God as a family, we’re typically just ourselves and we try to do a couple of things: make room for him to meet our needs and also meet his needs. We know He’s vulnerable to praise, and so are we! So it’s good to make room for both. He knows our frailty and often meets us there.

So…sometimes we sit and sometimes we cry and sometimes we dance and sometimes we sit in a stupor because we’re just so tired or angry with God or beat up by the world or all three. But wherever we are, we set aside times (like a date) to say, “God, this relationship is important to me, and you are important to me, and this is what I have to offer you today…give me more love so I can give you more love.”

I think worship is our lives. It’s not a genre of music. We present ourSELVES as a living sacrifice…this is continual worship. We never let the fire go out on the altar. There’s always self to burn. So as we meet Saturday night at 8:15 pm on our patio, it’s just a continuation of a relationship that began years, days, moments ago. It’s a moment in time to be together, enjoy one another, practice gratitude and let the magic of music and God make our hearts soft again.

There is no pressure to be or do anything in these moments. The AGENDA is to set aside time to focus on God and one another…to give him room. I believe when pursuit in a relationship slows, the metabolism slows, and singing together, singing to God, allowing him to sing to us, this is one of millions of ways to pursue one another. I like to think of set aside times with God as dates, and when I’m with others, they’re like group dates. Let’s meet here (our patio) at this time (Sat pm 8:15) and do this together (sit, journal, sing, meditate, dance, cry, rest). What I would ask to remain at home is any pressure to “do worship” or perform in any way. We want our sacrifice to be authentic to God…coming from the place within…where truth dwells. If you are angry with God, please be angry. Let him touch that. If he’s disappointed you, let’s let that out. Bring your inability and let it be replaced with his ability.

All of that craziness to say…I’m not sure how to build a playlist for others. I’m used to building Nance Playlists. So we’ll need to get other people in on this job so our playlists aren’t only Nance Culture.

I think he wants us to enjoy the music, enjoy one another, and we have so much to be thankful for, to celebrate. I joked last week about Dance Party USA, but as the playlist evolved this week, I’m pretty certain the first half actually could be Dance Party USA, at least for me. And then we transition into some love songs…midway through we give voice to our gratitude [Because You Loved Me, through Lord, I Need You]. Then God shares some of his heart starting with One Minute More by Capital Cities which then moves into some 70’s Love Songs, of course. (Sadly though, no ABBA this time…maybe next time.)

FREEDOM: I hope I’m not freaking anyone out. We’ll have chairs around the patio, you can sit at small round tables, or on the bench…you can interact with God however you wish.

And if you’re a words person like me…here’s a link to the lyrics: Lyrics 6:20:15.

Link to Playlist on Spotify
Backy Home by Andy Grammer
Rain Down by Delirious?
Roar by Katy Perry
When the Boys Light Up by Newsboys
Get Back Up by TobyMac
Hold On by TobyMac
Dum Dum by Tedashii and Lecrae
Unstoppable by TobyMac and Blanca from Group 1 Crew
Boomerang by Relient K

Because You Loved Me by Celine Dion
Lord, You Have My Heart by Delirious?
I’ve Searched For Gold by Delirious?
Lord, I Need You, by Shane & Shane

One Minute More by Capital Cities
You’ve Got a Friend by James Taylor
Ain’t No Mountain High Enough from album 70’s Love Songs
To Make You Feel My Love by TMC Country Stars
This Will Be (An Everlasting Love) by Natalie Cole

Leave a Reply

