a tribe of brothers

America’s public school system thought it was providing an education for me. Instead it provided community. I had a tribe of brothers. I saw them every day. They had my back.

I no longer know them. But during that time of life, they are the reason I made it.

Unaware of how desperately I needed support, I navigated that season thinking I was responsible for my success. I was wrong.

I had girlfriends, but for some reason, they’re not the ones that supported me. They loved me. They’re kind and generous and I can’t help feeling they provided much of what I needed outwardly.

But it was the guys who lended their strength. As I think back to how much I borrowed without repayment, I am stunned. I haven’t experienced generosity like that since.

Leave a Reply

