it’s time to close this door

Today we’re saying good-bye to our two oldest sons in a way we haven’t before. They are moving out of our home, and into an apartment with a friend.

I feel as if I’m turning in a project that I’ve been working on for fifteen years.

I’m so thankful we were allowed to share significant parts of the same story. I’m one of the luckiest people because I got to spend so much time with them. They are two of my favorite things about this place.

Today feels reflective and celebratory. I’m thankful to see the project completed, at least my part of the work is done, but I’ve grown accustomed to the work and am a little sad to see it go.

I am unbelievably thankful that fifteen years ago, when Joshua & Ethan were five years old, God got my attention and let me know that the time I had already experienced with them was one blink, and that if I was lucky, I’d get three more blinks.

He got my attention so magnanimously that day, my husband & I determined that preparing people for life was our number one job.

We rearranged our life, and with each season and change, continued to rearrange our life to reflect our commitment to Life Prep For the Next Generation.

I think that day (and a million difficult decisions since then) is the reason I am celebrating and smiling today.

And that is why today, I feel as if I’ve been working on a project for fifteen years. It’s a helluva project with the fanciest project binder on the market, and I’m turning it in. I’m leaving it on another desk in someone else’s office, walking out of the room, turning off the light, and shutting the door.

Good-bye sweet boys, and good-bye to the way we’ve been doing life together. You are unbelievably gracious sons, the best kind of sons, & I’m thankful we’ll remain friends.

I think you’ll be glad to find yourself on his desk now. He’s way better than me. 143

Leave a Reply

